jump to navigation

Why are you adding me?? August 5, 2012

Posted by viper42 in Business.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

So….Why are you adding me to your network? Good question. I think this issue is more pertinent with LinkedIn than perhaps the other networks. I can see adding or following people simply because they write interesting stuff. But LinkedIn…thats another story.

LinkedIn is not what I would consider social in the way the others are. I dont think it was designed to be. However, it was meant to connect businesses and business owners to possible clients and partners. Great concept!! Here is where I get a little foggy. I have about 402 connections on LinkedIn. I think out of those I have managed to actually speak with 10 of them. The rest, I either get no response by email, by phone, direct message or otherwise.

So lets get the brutal truth answer out the way for those thinking of it…Maybe David they have no interest in what you have to say. Great answer. Entirely possible. Of course, my profile being public and stating exactly what I do might tell someone…before they add me, that perhaps I’m not what they are looking for. Next answer…they never check their profile or messages. Entirely possible.

So here is the point. If you are on the network…To NETWORK, why would you add me to begin with and 2nd, why would you not be at least polite enough to acknowledge a message or request. The answer is quite simple: ITS NOT AS SOCIAL AS WE THINK IT IS. On the networks we can ignore, or trash messages. These are not things people do when face to face. Its considered rude. Not here though. Here its more about adding to get to who you really want to talk to in someone else’s network.

So that leaves the million dollar question on the table: What is the real value of a business social network if you wont even respond to an email (since you dont leave a number of course). Maybe I’m a little flustered by this. I have always heard that social networks have redefined business because of the access it gives you to so many people. So true. But access means squat without connecting. There is where I see the biggest issue. People add and dont try to connect. Hey, yeah you found me on LinkedIn. AWESOME!!! Now what?? You have a great picture amazing references, but you have no contact number. Only an email.

I’m sure there are plenty of you on the NETWORKS out there. What are some of your thoughts on this? I welcome….THE CONNECTION

20120804-154703.jpg

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

